

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



MEDIA RELEASE

Monday, June 25, 2018

Basin Plan impact report welcomed

THE Murray Darling Association welcomes the Murray-Darling Basin Authority reporting into the impact of the implementation of the Murray-Darling Basin Plan on Southern Basin communities.

The report found that between 2000 and 2016, the total number of people employed within 40 communities located within the Southern Basin dropped by 13 per cent.

The MDBA found that one quarter of this decline can be attributed to the implementation of the Basin Plan, with other factors contributing to the reduction in employment figures.

"The Murray Darling Association welcomes the release of this research that shows the significance of impacts of water recovery in our regions and that the challenges experienced by communities in adjusting to these impacts by diversifying their local economies," Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury said.

"We also value the recognition that water recovered through direct purchase has significantly contributed to detrimental social and economic changes in some communities.

"Recognition of these matters must inform future decisions on the implementation of the Basin Plan."

Following the release of this report, the Murray Darling Association – local government's peak body representing member councils across the Basin – encourages State and Federal representatives to consider these issues.

"More needs to be done to assist communities to adapt to the culminative impact of the Basin Plan and other factors on our regional economies," Murray Darling Association National President, Cr David Thurley said.

The Murray Darling Association's board members are:

Albury City Council	Cr David Thurley	0419 510 274
Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Murray River Council	Cr Alan Mathers	0427 209 806
Wentworth Shire Council	Mayor Melisa Hederics	0447 817 871
Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Alexandrina Council	Cr Barry Featherston	0417 808 565
Town of Walkerville	Cr David Shetliffe	0414 631 442
Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299

ENDS

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.