

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



## MEDIA RELEASE

Monday 4th February 2019

## MDA thanks outgoing Chair of the MDBA

The full board of the Murray Darling Association met last week as part of a three-day meeting of local government leaders from across the Murray Darling Basin.

Included in the program was a briefing from the Acting Chair of the Murray Darling Basin Authority Ms Joanna Hewitt AO and CEO Phillip Glyde on current conditions on the Barwon-Darling. The — and the Authority's response to the South Australian Royal Commission Report, following.

MDA National President Cr David Thurley took the opportunity to welcome Ms Hewitt to the role, and to acknowledge the work done by outgoing Chair of the Authority Mr Neil Andrew AO.

"The relationship between the Authority tasked to implement the Plan, and the association representing the councils of the Murray Darling Basin is robust and respectful," Cr Thurley said. "It has continued to strengthen in recent years."

"The MDA, in representing the views of our members, works hard to ensure that the perspectives and issues of Councils and communities across the Basin are known to the Authority. What is needed most to preserve the health and capacity of the rivers and wetlands and the communities that rely on them, is strong and respectful exchange of knowledge and information so that all positions are considered."

The board considered a range of other items at the meeting, including welcoming the newly appointed chairs of region 7 and 10, Cr Andrew Tilley of the City of Mitcham, and Mayor Craig Davies of Narromine Shire Council respectively, bringing the level of council representation on the board to its highest level in the organisations 75 year history.

The Murray Darling Association's regional chairs are:

Region 1	Albury City Council	Cr David Thurley	0419 510 274
Region 2	Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Region 3	Vacant		
Region 4	Wentworth Shire Council	Cr Jane MacAllister	0427 118 396
Region 5	Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Region 6	Election Pending		
Region 7	City of Mitcham	Cr Andrew Tilley	0411 158 882
Region 8	Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Region 9	Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Region 10	Narromine Shire Council	Mayor Craig Davies	0429 887 707
Region 11	Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Region 12	Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299

**ENDS** 

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.