

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



## MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday, July 26, 2018

## Water extraction a hot topic

THE future management of water extraction throughout the Murray-Darling Basin will prompt discussions next month at Leeton.

Representatives from more than 100 councils located within the Basin will meet when the southern Riverina town hosts the Murray Darling Association's 74<sup>th</sup> National Conference and Annual General Meeting, occurring from Wednesday, August 29 to Friday, August 31 at the Leeton Soldiers Club.

A panel session featuring representatives from some of Australia's largest irrigation sectors, including Cotton Australia, the Ricegrowers' Association of Australia and Webster Limited, headlines day two of the program.

The one-hour event, occurring on Thursday, August 30, will see panellists explore the history of the Darling River system and lessons for the future management of our other major river systems.

Audience members will be able to ask questions to panellists, which will provide lively participation.

"Panel sessions have been a highlight of past National Conferences and this year proves to be no exception," Leeton Shire Council Mayor, Cr Paul Maytom said.

"The Murrumbidgee River is key to communities in the Southern Riverina area, so I encourage those interest in issues regarding water extraction and agricultural sustainability to come along and provide input to discussions."

Other National Conference highlights include a Civic Reception Night Glow on the Wednesday night at the Leeton Jockey Club and a Murrumbidgee Riverina Region study tour on the Friday, which will see delegates visit a number of industries and irrigation infrastructure assets.

Registrations for the event are now open.

Those wanting to attend the conference can register online at <a href="https://www.mda.asn.au">www.mda.asn.au</a> or phone the association's headquarters on (03) 5480 3805.

## The Murray Darling Association's board members are:

Albury City Council	Cr David Thurley	0419 510 274
Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Murray River Council		1300 087 004
Wentworth Shire Council	Mayor Melisa Hederics	0447 817 871
Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Alexandrina Council	Cr Barry Featherston	0417 808 565
Town of Walkerville	Cr David Shetliffe	0414 631 442
Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299

## **ENDS**

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.