

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

## MEDIA RELEASE

22/03/2018

## A return to the table expected under new SA Liberal government

Local government in South Australia is optimistic of a renewed and constructive commitment to the Basin Plan following the election of a Liberal government led by Steven Marshall.

It is hoped that the outcome of the election in South Australia, coupled with the clear and decisive actions taken by the NSW Government in its Water Reform Action Plan, will see an end to a period of instability across Basin governments that has cast doubt on the Basin Plan.

The SA State Liberal Party has committed to working "with bipartisanship, alongside the government and any other political party or interest group interested in and committed to securing the Murray-Darling Basin Plan on time and in full".

This is seen as a promising sign by local government in South Australia – represented by peak body the Murray Darling Association - which is in turn committed to working with all governments to ensure that the implementation of the Basin Plan delivers certainty, consistency, and fair and reliable outcomes for all.

MDA National Vice President and Chair of Region 6 (Coorong) Cr Barry Featherston said he hoped the election result would act as a much-needed circuit-breaker for the Plan.

"We look forward to working with the new South Australian government and we hope to meet with them soon," he said.

MDA Region 5 (Riverland) Chair Peter Hunter, Deputy Mayor with Renmark Paringa Council, said local government was confident the new government would be able to bring a constructive approach to the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council.

"We recognise the strong links the SA Liberals have with the Federal Liberals, including their common views on implementation of the Basin Plan," he said.

"We appreciate the support the SA Liberals have already given to the Plan and look forward to that continuing."

MDA CEO Emma Bradbury said it was important for all governments to work constructively and remain committed to the Plan.

"Local government across the Basin, through its membership of the Murray Darling Association, has been able to find common ground and has recognised the need for a strong collaborative approach to move forward with crucial amendments to the Plan in the months ahead," she said.

## [END]

For more information, contact MDA CEO Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 01. All Region Chairs are also available for comment.

Region	Name	Organisation	Mobile Phone	Email Address/ Chair
Region 1	Cr David Thurley	Albury City Council	0419 510 274	DThurley@alburycity.nsw.gov.au
Region 2	Cr Peter Mansfield	Moira Shire Council	0428 574 433	pmansfield@moira.vic.gov.au
Region 3	Cr Leigh Byron	Balranald Shire Council	0428 201 301	mayor@balranald.nsw.gov.au
Region 4	Cr Darriea Turley	Broken Hill City Council	0429 848 480	Darriea.Turley@health.nsw.gov.au
Region 5	Cr Peter Hunter	Renmark Paringa Council	0447 177 341	crhunter@renmarkparinga.sa.gov.au
Region 6	Cr Barry Featherston	Alexandrina Council	0417 808 565	barry.featherston@alexandrina.sa.gov.au
Region 7	Cr David Shetliffe	Town of Walkerville	0414 631 442	DShetliffe@walkerville.sa.gov.au
Region 8	Cr Denis Clark	Northern Areas Council	0408 148 725	denis.clark@nacouncil.sa.gov.au
Region 9	Cr Paul Maytom	Leeton Shire Council	0447 293 829	paulm@leeton.nsw.gov.au
Region 10	Vacant			
Region 11	Cr John Campbell	Gunnedah Shire Council	0408 421 065	johncampbell@infogunnedah.com.au
Region 12	Cr Richard Marsh	Balonne Shire Council	0409 692 299	richard.marsh@balonne.qld.gov.au

Conto	act informatio	n for the	Chairs of	the N	<i>Aurray</i>	Darling Ass	ociation