Our Board

img left

Cr David Thurley - Albury City Council

Chair, Region 1 - National President

The chair of Region 1 is Cr David Thurley, Albury City Council. Cr Thurley can be contacted on M: 0419 510 274.  

Cr Thurley is originally from Tasmania where he graduated from the University of Tasmania with a BSc and began his career as a Research Scientist for Australian Newsprint Mills. Cr Thurley moved to Albury Wodonga in his thirties to work as the Technical Manager for the paper mill now owned by Norske Skog, where he attended meetings and conferences of the MDA as part of this role. In 1994 he established his environmental consultancy, specialising in water treatment.

Elected to Albury City Council in 2012, Cr Thurley is Chairman of the Finance and Administration Committee and the Council’s representative as Chairman of the Murray Darling Association, Region 1. In addition to his Council duties Cr Thurley is president of the Astronomical Society of Albury Wodonga and president of the Board of Age Concern. Outside Council you may find him riding, reading or devising fun science experiments for his 11 grandchildren.

img left

Cr Bronwyn Thomas - Federation Council

Chair, Region 2

The chair of Region 2 is Cr Bronwyn Thomas, Federation Council. Cr Thomas can be contacted on 0427 433 123.

img left


Chair, Region 3

The chair of Region 3 is currently vacant.


img left

Deputy Mayor Tim Elstone - Wentworth Shire Council

Chair, Region 4

The chair of Region 4 is Deputy Mayor Tim Elstone from Wentworth Shire Council. Cr Elstone can be contacted on 03 5027 5027.

img left

Cr Peter Raison - Mid Murray Council

Chair, Region 5

The chair of Region 5 is Cr Peter Raison, Mid Murray Council. Cr Raison can be contacted on M: 0409 594 720
img left

Cr Melissa Rebbeck - Alexandrina Council

Chair, Region 6

The chair of Region 6 is Melissa Rebbeck from Alexandrina Council. Cr Rebbeck can be contacted on M: 0427 273 727            


img left

Cr Andrew Tilley - City of Mitcham

Chair, Region 7

The Chair of Region 7 is held in the interim by Cr Andrew Tilley from the City of Mitcham, Cr Tilley can be contacted on M: 0411 158 882

img left


Chair, Region 8

The chair of Region 8 is currently Vacant.

img left

Cr Glen Andreazza - Griffith City Council

Chair, Region 9

The chair of Region 9 is Cr Glen Andreazza,or Leeton Shire Council. Cr Andreazza can be contacted on M: 02 6969 87100. 

img left

Cr Phyllis Miller, Mayor - Forbes Shire Council

Chair, Region 10

The Chair of Region 10 is Mayor Phyllis Miller from the Forbes Shire Council. Mayor Miller can be contacted on M: 0417812657 .



img left

Cr Craig Davies, Mayor Narromine Shire Council

Chair, Region 10A

The Chair of Region 10A is Mayor Craig Davies from Narromine Shire Council. Mayor Davies can be contacted on M: 0429 887 707

img left

Cr John Campbell - Gunnedah Shire Council

Chair, Region 11

The Chair of Region 11 Cr John Campbell from Gunnedah Shire Council. Cr Campbell can be contacted on M: 0408 421 065.

img left

Cr Samantha O'Toole, Mayor - Balonne Shire Council

Chair, Region 12

The chair of Region 12 is Cr Samantha O'Toole, Mayor Balonne Shire Council. Mayor O'Toole can be contacted on M: 0428 887 100.

img left

Pete George


Pete is Partner and Associate of M+S Group Accounting Pty Ltd and has been with the firm since 1990.  With over 30 years experience in the field, he is a member of the Australian Society of Certified Practicing Accountants and has a vast knowledge of taxation, GST, business structures, Self-Managed Super Funds, succession planning, general and specialist accounting. Prior to becoming an Accountant, Pete was a Systems Analyst and Computer Programmer, fluent in four languages.  Pete is a current Professional Partner of XERO, MYOB, Intuit and Reckon products.

Pete brings his considerable skill and commitment to several not-for-profit boards, and is also an Angel Flight Pilot in his spare time.

As an accountant supporting farmers, families, and businesses across the Southern Connected Basin, Pete has a deep and personal commitment to ensuring that the resources of the Murray Darling Basin serve the needs of our communities and the natural environment for all generations yet to come.