Regions of the Murray Darling Association


Local government areas of the Murray-Darling Basin

The Murray Darling Association is a membership-based peak representative organisation representing local government and the communities we serve across the Murray-Darling Basin since 1944.
As the third level of government in Australia, and the one most directly connected to community, local government has a valuable contribution to make in the processes, community consultation, and the formulation of decisions made and taken in the continuing implementation of the Basin Plan. This is enhanced beyond measure when local government is working together Basin wide.
Built on a strong foundation of good governance, we work with and for member councils, in collaboration with state based local government associations (LGA SA, MAV, LGA NSW and LGAQ), Regional Organisations of Councils, Joint Organisations and other local government affiliations.
The MDA provides our members with the means and opportunity to actively participate in informing water policy, and provides state and Federal governments, the MDBA and other aagencies with an opportunity to access community consultation and perspectives via a comprehensive community network coverage.
Councils within our 12 regions


  • Albury City Council
  • Federation Council
  • Indigo Shire Council
  • Towong Shire Council
  • Alpine Shire Council
  • Baw Baw Shire Council
  • Benalla Rural City Council
  • East Gippsland Shire Council
  • Greater Hume Shire Council
  • Mansfield Shire Council
  • Snowy Monaro Shire Council
  • Wangaratta Rural City Council
  • Wodonga City Council

Region Two

  • Berrigan Shire Council
  • Campaspe Shire
  • Edward River Council
  • Moira Shire Council
  • Murray River Council
  • Greater Bendigo City Council
  • Greater Shepparton City Council
  • Macedon Ranges Shire Council
  • Mitchell Shire Council
  • Murrindindi Shire Council
  • Strathbogie Shire Council
  • Whittlesea City
  • Yarra Ranges Shire Council

Region Three

  • Gannawarra Shire Council
  • Loddon Shire Council
  • Ararat Rural City Council
  • Ballarat City Council
  • Balranald Shire Council
  • Buloke Shire Council
  • Central Goldfields Shire Council
  • Hepburn Shire Council
  • Horsham Rural City Council
  • Moorabool Shire Council
  • Mount Alexander Shire Council
  • Northern Grampians Shire
  • Pyrenees Shire Council
  • Swan Hill Rural City Council

Region Four

  • Broken Hill City Council
  • Central Darling Shire
  • Mildura Rural City Council
  • Wentworth Shire Council
  • Hindmarsh Shire Council
  • West Wimmera Shire Council
  • Yarriambiack Shire Council



  • District Council of Loxton Waikerie
  • Renmark Paringa Council
  • Mid Murray Council
  • Berri Barmera Council
  • District Council of Karoonda East Murray

Region Six

  • Alexandrina Council
  • Coorong District Council
  • Tatiara District Council
  • The Rural City of Murray Bridge
  • City of Victor Harbour
  • Kingston District Council
  • Southern Mallee District Council

Region Seven

  • Campbelltown City Council
  • City of Burnside
  • City of Holdfast Bay
  • City of Norwood Payneham & St Peters
  • City of Playford
  • City of West Torrens
  • Town of Walkerville
  • Adelaide City Council
  • City of Charles Sturt
  • City of Marion
  • City of Mitcham
  • City of Onkaparinga
  • City of Port Adelaide Enfield
  • City of Prospect
  • City of Salisbury
  • City of Tea Tree Gully
  • City of Unley
  • District Council of Yankalilla
  • The District Council of Mount Barker
  • Town of Gawler

Region Eight

  • District Council of Barunga West
  • Orroroo Council
  • District Council of Yorke Peninsula
  • Light Regional Council
  • Port Pirie Regional Council
  • The Barossa Council
  • The District Council of Mallala
  • The District Council of Mount Remarkable
  • The District Council of Peterborough
  • The Regional Council of Goyder
  • Whyalla City Council
  • Wakefield Regional Council
  • Adelaide Hills Council
  • Clare and Gilbert Valleys Council
  • District Council of the Copper Coast
  • Port Augusta City Council
  • Northern Areas Council


  • Griffith City Council
  • Hay Shire Council
  • Hilltops Shire Council
  • Leeton Shire Council
  • Lockhart Shire Council
  • Murrumbidgee Shire Council
  • Narrandera Shire Council
  • Wagga Wagga City Council
  • Coolamon Shire Council
  • Cootamundra-Gundagai Shire Council
  • Junee Shire Council
  • Queanbeyan-Palerang Council
  • Snowy Valleys Council
  • Temora Shire Council
  • Weddin Shire Council
  • Yass Valley Council

Region Ten

  • Bourke Shire Council
  • Dubbo City Council
  • Forbes Shire Council
  • Lachlan Shire Council
  • Narromine Shire Council
  • Warren Shire Council
  • Bathurst Regional Council
  • Bogan Shire Council
  • Bland Shire Council
  • Blayney Shire Council
  • Cabonne Council
  • City of Lithgow Council
  • Cobar Shire Council
  • Cowra Shire Council
  • Goulburn Mulwaree Council
  • Mid-Western Regional Council
  • Muswellbrook Shire Council
  • Oberon Council
  • Orange City Council
  • Parkes Shire Council
  • Singleton Shire Council
  • Upper Hunter Shire Council
  • Upper Lachlan Shire Council
  • Warrumbungle Shire Council

Region Eleven

  • Brewarrina Shire Council
  • Coonamble Shire Council
  • Gwydir Shire Council
  • Moree Plains Shire Council
  • Walgett Shire Council
  • Armidale Dumaresq Council
  • Glen Innes Severn Council
  • Gunnedah Shire Council
  • Guyra Shire Council
  • Inverell Shire Council
  • Liverpool Plains Shire
  • Narrabri Shire Council
  • Tamworth Regional Council
  • Tenterfield Shire Council
  • Uralla Shire Council
  • Walcha Council

Region Twelve

  • Paroo Shire Council
  • Toowoomba Regional Council
  • Balonne Shire Council
  • Blackall Tambo Regional Council
  • Bulloo Shire Council
  • Central Highlands Regional Council
  • Goondiwindi Regional Council
  • Lockyer Valley Regional Council
  • Maranoa Regional Council
  • Murweh Shire Council
  • Quilpie Shire Council
  • Scenic Rim Regional Council
  • South Burnett Regional Council
  • Western Downs Regional Council

For more information on becoming a member please contact our Echuca office: or phone (03) 5480 3805.