

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



MFDIA RFI FASF

Monday 4th February 2019

Councils meet as governments grapple with Basin Plan progress reports

As the South Australian Royal Commission handed down its findings last week, more than 55 community leaders from 28 councils across all four states, of the Murray Darling Basin met for the 5th annual Murray Darling Association Strategic Planning workshop.

The three-day event saw a gathering of mayors, councillors and senior executives of councils from Albury to Adelaide, Menindee to the Murray Mouth, as far afield as Balonne, Cobar, Narromine and more.

Councils discussed a range of issues, highlighting the importance of state and federal governments and agencies engaging better with communities through their local representatives; the imperatives of having local government involved in the assessment and delivery of SDL projects; and the need for better resourcing.

"I found the discussions tremendously valuable," Cr Tim Elstone, Wentworth Shire Council said. "While there are many issues across the Basin, it was fantastic to see every region willing to consider all views."

City of Mitcham Mayor Dr Heather Holmes-Ross added "I was proud to represent region 7 (metro Adelaide) along with Cr Andrew Tilley. It was an excellent workshop - hard work but rewarding, resulting in strategies that will allow us to represent the interests of all of our communities as we navigate the implementation of the MD Plan."

National President Cr David Thurley concluded "The robust discussions and willingness to hear and to learn once again highlights the strength of local government dealing with complex issues."

The Murray Darling Association's regional chairs are:

Region 1	Albury City Council	Cr David Thurley	0419 510 274
Region 2	Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Region 3	Vacant		
Region 4	Wentworth Shire Council	Cr Jane MacAllister	0427 118 396
Region 5	Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Region 6	Election Pending		
Region 7	City of Mitcham	Cr Andrew Tilley	0411 158 882
Region 8	Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Region 9	Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Region 10	Narromine Shire Council	Mayor Craig Davies	0429 887 707
Region 11	Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Region 12	Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299
ENDS			

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.