

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday, July 19, 2018

Local government expertise recognised in the Basin Community Committee

THE Murray Darling Association congratulates its National President, Cr David Thurley on being appointed to the 16-member Murray-Darling Basin Authority Basin Community Committee.

Cr Thurley is one of 12 new appointees to the committee, which helps the authority understand the complex issues across the Basin and give advice on how to best manage the Basin's water resources in the future.

Cr Thurley serves on the Albury City Council, chairing MDA Region 1. He joins fellow local government representatives Mayor Neil Martinson of Renmark Paringa Council, and Cr Samantha O'Toole of Balonne Shire Council, both chairing councils of MDA Regions 5 and 12 respectively, along with Mayor Adrian Weston of Campaspe Shire Council as new appointees.

In 2017 the Murray Darling Association, local government's peak representative body for councils across the Murray-Darling Basin, sought from the Minister of Water and Agriculture consideration of local government representation on the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council (the Council) and/or the Basin Officials Committee (BOC). In response, a commitment was made to increase local government expertise in the Basin Community Committee.

"With a quarter of the new appointments being councillors from across the Basin, there is recognition that local government has a valuable role contributing local knowledge and expertise in the management of Murray-Darling Basin resources, and in the continuing implementation of the Plan," Cr Thurley said.

"We appreciate this very positive step forward, and I look forward to working with the committee."

The Basin Community Committee will hold its first meeting in August, with the new appointees to serve three-year terms.

ENDS

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.