

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



MEDIA RELEASE

Monday, June 25, 2018

Local government leaders meet in Canberra

MUNICIPAL leaders from across Australia met in Canberra last week at the Australian Local Government Association's National General Assembly.

The Murray Darling Association - local government's peak body representing councils across the Murray-Darling Basin - supported the three-day event, engaging with mayors and delegates from across the Basin to better understand the issues facing their region.

"The general assembly was an invaluable opportunity for the MDA to engage face-to-face with member councils across the Murray-Darling Basin, and to provide a better understanding of Basin-related issues to councils right across Australia," Murray Darling Association National President, Cr David Thurley said.

"The Murray-Darling Basin is a national asset of international significance. It is essential that local government has the means and the opportunity to inform and influence the decisions that impact our regional communities in relation to the management of this shared asset."

"The MDA commends the ALGA on a tremendous event. We look forward to continuing to work closely with councils and the ALGA to provide local government with the strongest possible outcomes," Murray Darling Association chief executive officer, Emma Bradbury said.

The Murray Darling Association will hold its own 74th National Convention and Annual General Meeting, occurring from August 29 to 31 in Leeton, New South Wales.

Registrations are now open, which can be completed online at http://www.mda.asn.au/major-events/2018-national-conference-agm.aspx

The Murray Darling Association's board members are:

Albury City Council	Cr David Thurley	0419 510 274
Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Murray River Council	Cr Alan Mathers	0427 209 806
Wentworth Shire Council	Mayor Melisa Hederics	0447 817 871
Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Alexandrina Council	Cr Barry Featherston	0417 808 565
Town of Walkerville	Cr David Shetliffe	0414 631 442
Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299

ENDS

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.