

admin@mda.asn.au www.mda.asn.au T (03) 5480 3805 ABN: 64 636 490 493

> 463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

Thursday, August 9, 2018

## Local government's input growing

THE Murray Darling Association's continuing advocacy on behalf of local governments across the Basin has taken a further step forward.

The association has long advocated for a fair and equitable assessment of socio-economic impacts felt by communities due to changing water availability.

Following the MDA's address to the Basin Officials Committee, the Murray-Darling Basin Ministerial Council committed in June to ensure that continuing recovery of the 450-gigalitre upwater can only proceed through efficiency measures that ensure neutral or beneficial socio-economic outcomes.

The Federal Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources, David Littleproud has now written to the Murray Darling Association, instructed his department to look at how to incorporate the input of local government located within the Basin to inform the assessment criteria, and to better engage local government and the MDA in particular.

"The Murray Darling Association is currently working with the department on this matter. We look forward to establishing a process by which local government has a more direct role in addressing the socio-economic impacts felt by our communities through changing water availability," MDA Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury said.

"The input of member councils is essential, informing the development of balanced policy that meets the need of local communities."

The Murray Darling Association's board members are:

Albury City Council

Cr David Thurley

0419 510 274

Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Wentworth Shire Council	Mayor Melisa Hederics	0447 817 871
Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Alexandrina Council	Cr Barry Featherston	0417 808 565
Town of Walkerville	Cr David Shetliffe	0414 631 442
Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299

## ENDS

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274.