

463 High Street P.O. Box 1268 Echuca, Vic 3564



MEDIA RELEASE

Thursday, 8 May 2018

Local government welcomes return to bipartisanship on the Basin Plan

The Murray Darling Association has welcomed the return to bipartisanship on the Basin Plan heralded by Labor and the Coalition's agreement on the Basin Plan announced last night.

The agreement means the 605GL SDL adjustment amendment will pass the Parliament. Labor have also agreed to support the 70GL reduction in Northern Basin SDLs when it is returned to the Parliament.

The agreement comes with a renewed commitment to recovery of the 450GL with zero negative social and economic impacts, increased transparency and oversight in the delivery of the 605GL SDL adjustment projects; additional compliance initiatives with payments to Basin States tied to implementation of Basin Compliance Compact commitments; and \$80 million in funding to support structural adjustment programs for communities impacted by the Basin Plan and to improve Basin Plan outcomes for indigenous communities.

The Murray Darling Association - the peak body for local government in the Murray-Darling Basin since 1944 - welcomes this bipartisan display of support for the full and timely implementation of the Basin Plan.

National President Cr David Thurley said "The return to bipartisanship is a good outcome for the environment, and for Basin communities. We can now look forward to building on early positive environmental outcomes and continue to drive greater efficiencies in water use to ensure sustainable agricultural productivity.

Our communities, our industries, and our agencies managing the implementation processes and the delivery of environmental water all need certainty. We need certainty of the Plan and we need confidence in the process."

This agreement between Labor and the Coalition will provide certainty for the Basin Plan, and is the first step needed to build confidence in the process.

It is essential that Basin Governments, local, state, and federal work together in good faith for the good of the river and the communities that rely on it," Cr Thurley added.

The Murray Darling Association's board members are:

Albury City Council	Cr David Thurley	0419 510 274
Moira Shire Council	Cr Peter Mansfield	0428 574 433
Murray River Council	Cr Alan Mathers	0427 209 806
Wentworth Shire Council	Mayor Melisa Hederics	0429 848 480
Renmark Paringa Council	Cr Peter Hunter	0447 177 341
Alexandrina Council	Cr Barry Featherston	0417 808 565
Town of Walkerville	Cr David Shetliffe	0414 631 442
Northern Areas Council	Mayor Denis Clark	0408 148 725
Leeton Shire Council	Mayor Paul Maytom	0447 293 829
Gunnedah Shire Council	Cr John Campbell	0408 421 065
Balonne Shire Council	Mayor Richard Marsh	0409 692 299

ENDS

For more information, contact Murray Darling Association Chief Executive Officer, Emma Bradbury on 0429 905 017 or National President Cr David Thurley on 0419 510 274. All Region Chairs are also available for comment.